Explore Talent. Develop Networks. Inspire Success.

Council of States

Council of States

​​​​The Council of States has 46 members who represent the cantons. The cantons each send two representatives, with the exception of Obwalden, Nidwalden, Basel-Stadt, Basel-Landschaft, Appenzell Ausserrhoden and Appenzell Innerrhoden, which each send one. The canton of Zurich, which has a population of over 1 million, elects two representatives as does Uri, which has a population of around 35,000.

Linked Biographies



Get your copy of the 2021 edition
Print & Digital subscription: CHF 600.-*
Print only : CHF 480.-
*plus shipping


*** NEW *** SWW First Card (for Members only)

Click on to discover the premium service